A New Year

January 3, 2009

Here we are- a new year is upon us. 

And it’s hard to believe that my 365 photo project is over- yesterday was my last day.  I need to figure out what to “do with it” now.  My mom wants me to come up with a presentation, a talk I can give to her library or church.  I want to look over my pics and calculate the stats- how many cat photos, how many kid photos, etc.

I’m not sure what my new project will be.  Or if I will have a specific project.  I like taking pictures- and it’s weird to not take one today.  Maybe I’ll think up a theme and start later this month.

I want to work on my birthday quilt for sure.  Milestone birthday- bleecchhh!- but better than the alternative.

And right now I need to make a dish for a birthday party we will attend tomorrow.  Don’t give a rat’s patoot about nutrition?  Here is what I am going to make- a “keeper” from Christmas:

Bavarian Party Dip
 
1/2 c. minced onion
1 lb. Braunschweiger
3 oz. cream cheese
1/4 t. black pepper
 
Sauté onion 8-10 min.s, stirring frequently; remove from heat and drain.  Remove casing from braun. and mix meat with cr. cheese until smooth.  Mix in onion and pepper.  Serve as a liver spread on crackers, thinly slice party rye or serve as a dip accompanied by a variety of raw veggies.
[Sam’s note: when I had it over Xmas the preparer added more sauteed onions than required; placed the whole mixture in a plastic-lined bowl and chilled; and when ready to serve, inverted on a plate and iced it with a mayo/sour cream mixture and sprinkled with chopped onions. We had it with bagel chips]
I’m also going to make this for church for Epiphany (I’ve never made it before- the notes are not mine)-
Gift of the Magi Bread  (makes 2 loaves)
1/2 cup softened sweet butter (do not substitute)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup mashed ripe bananas (2 medium or 3 small)
1 (11 ounce) can mandarin oranges, drained
1 cup coconut
1 cup semisweet mini-chocolate chips
2/3 cup sliced almonds, divided
1/2 cup chopped maraschino cherries
1/2 cup chopped dates

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease 2 loaf pans and set aside.

In a mixer bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract (can add coconut or pineapple extract for extra flavor).

Combine flour, baking soda and salt and add to the creamed butter mixture alternately with the bananas. Stir in mandarin oranges, coconut, mini-chocolate chips, 1/2 cup almonds, cherries and dates; mix well to combine.

Pour into 2 prepared loaf pans. Sprinkle with remaining almonds (I like more almonds on my bread). Bake 50 to 55 minutes (45 minutes is what I bake it at; it will depend on your oven) or until cake tester inserted in center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and cool 10 to 15 minutes on a wire rack before removing from pans. Cool completely.

(Sorry the page isn’t formatting correctly- my paragraphs are running together.)

Off to cook!

2 Responses to “A New Year”

  1. Jennifer Conrad Seidel Says:

    I am the editor of Flavor, a new magazine dedicated to local food and wine and sustainable agriculture in Virginia’s Piedmont region.

    We need a photo to illustrate redbuds in bloom for an article on morel hunting. (Apparently it’s good to look for morels when the redbuds boom.)

    Would you grant us permission to use this photo?
    flickr.com/photos/samanthasgarden/2455170415/

    If so, please
    * send a high-res version of the photo
    * specify a credit line
    * and give us your mailing address so we can send you a copy of the magazine once it’s printed.

    Best,

    Jennifer

    * * *
    Jennifer Conrad Seidel
    Editor

    Flavor Magazine
    seasonal • local • sustainable • artisanal • unique
    e-mail editor@flavormags.com
    web flavormags.com
    Facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/group.php?gid=42747547380


  2. […] also “booked” a few places this summer to speak about my 365 project, which is crazy cool.  A friend made a video for me, set to music, which has gotten rave […]


Leave a Reply

