Soup Monday- Mexican Chicken Soup

January 13, 2009

Again I’m posting this on Tues.- I meant to do it yesterday, but as Mary Engelbreit says, life is just so daily!!

Yesterday I made Mexican Chicken Soup.  I got the recipe from the January 2009 “Go To Market”, published by a local grocery store (the Disney land of grocery stores I might add!), Ukrops.  It went over fairly well- DS ate it, DH of COURSE ate it, and DD is a bit picky these days and wasn’t as thrilled.

I chose it because it sounded good, I was hankerin’ for something spicy, and I had all the ingredients (beans, tomatoes and veggies on sale 50 cents a can!!).  As always I made some changes, which will be italicized. I think it could use some more tweaking, but it’s good as it is. The recipe says it serves 4, but with the rice it gave 2 kid servings, 2 big man servings and 2 regular servings (I was hungry!).

Mexican Chicken Soup

  • 1 T. canola oil
  • Approx. 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • chopped onion
  • minced garlic
  • 1- 15.25 oz. can no-salt-added whole kernel corn, undrained
  • 1- 14.5 oz. can chicken broth (I made my own)
  • 1- 14.5 oz. can diced tomaotes with chilies, undrained
  • cumin (at least 1/2 t.)
  • chili powder (about 1/2 t.)
  • 1- 15 oz. can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • Mexican blend shredded cheese (I grated my own cheddar)
  • sour cream
  • cooked rice (optional)

Cut chix into bite-sized pieces.  Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and add onion, then chix and garlic.  Cook 5-7 min.s or until browned.  Add can of corn, chix broth, tomatoes, cumin and chili powder.  Stir in black beans.  Simmer for 15-20 min.s or until warm and slightly reduced.  Serve over rice (optional) topped with cheese and sour cream.

Then chow down!!

Leave a Reply

