Cold as a ______

January 16, 2009

You can insert your own word or expletive!!  It’s a balmy 21* here in my part of Virginia.  I tacked towels over most of the windows this morning……..

And I’m getting ready to bake!!

I meant to tell you the other day that I made some delish apple caramel muffins.  I saw the Kraft Caramel Bits in the store and immediately thought of this recipe.

apple caramel muffins

This is the Basic Muffins recipe from Mad About Muffins by Dot Vartan.  This is what I use for muffins, unless I make a specialty recipe.  The beauty of this recipe is that you can use it as a base for your favorite ingredients. 

Basic Muffins

  • 2 c. minus 2 T. flour
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 5 T. granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c. milk
  • 4 T. melted butter

Oven 400*.  Sift dry ingredients together.  Beat egg, milk, butter.  Pour wet into dry.  Mix to moisten.  Fill greased muffin tins.  Bake 22 minutes.  Makes @ 10.

**For apple caramel muffins, add about 1/2 of an apple, grated, to the wet ingredients, then proceed with the recipe. [I think I also added some protein powder, a dash of cinnamon, some vanilla and subst.ed brown sugar for white]  Before popping into the oven I sprinkled some caramel bits over the top- MAKE SURE to push them down into the dough, or as the muffins rise the caramel will melt and spill off the muffins and onto the muffin tin (guess how I know that….).  I used mini-muffins tins, so I lessened the baking time accordingly (to about 13 min.s for my oven).

This recipe is great becasue you can add any fruit or other ingredient.   Just be mindful of how “wet” the ingredient is- I wouldn’t put pumpkin in this recipe for example.  But I knew I could add protein powder because of the fresh apple.  You can also play with the sugar- I like to substitute brown sugar sometimes for added flavor, or reduce the amt. of sugar in general.  And of course add spices!!

And today, I’m going to throw ingredients into the bread machine for crusty potato bread and by hand whip up this downeast Maine pumpkin bread some carrot bran muffins (surprisingly, I don’t have any pumpkin on hand!).  I’ve tried neither before.

And dinner will be chili or spaghetti!!

Bye!  Keep warm!

~S

Leave a Reply

