Soup Monday- Split Pea

January 19, 2009

Even though it was a day off for the kids, I had a meeting at church.  And after additionally working on the computer this cold day, I opted for the easy and simple Split Pea Soup.   This isn’t the exact recipe I used, but it’s a basic one if you need it. 

As long as you have the peas, onion, garlic, celery, a bay leaf, some stock ,water, etc. you are good to go.  Best with a ham bone too!

I’m going to serve it with garlic or cheesy garlic toast.

I’m holding a soup swap again at my church this Sunday.  I’ve been looking and looking for a new soup to make, and I found some candidates!  Number 1 choice is Vegetable Tagine– it sounded good and nutritious, a little different.  The other two in the running are Spinach Lentil with kielbasa and rice, and Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple and Red Lentil Soup with cumin and ginger and chili powder- mmmm!!!  So hard to decide……………

~S

Leave a Reply

