And Now It’s Saturday

January 24, 2009

One of my kids had an overnight guest, so yesterday was a flurry of cleaning, making beds, buying chips and pizza.  AND my sewing machine was put away- I can’t wait to get it back out!! 

I’m WAAAY behind on my birthday quilt- surprise surprise!  “Stuff” has just come up, as stuff does.  I’ve also been working on items for my church’s craft bazaar this Spring.  I belong to a few church groups that will be selling things, one of which is my quilting group.  We are making coasters – yeah, I know it’s not an original pattern, but it’s quite basic, and it’s not like we are selling these on etsy.  So I’ve made LOADS out of all kinds of scraps and other donated fabrics not suitable for quilts (frugal!).

moms-camera-1392

Did you celebrate National Pie Day yesterday?? I did!  We went with a basic apple pie.  DH requested peach, but I had to remind him that it’s not peach season (I like to eat seasonally- kids need to know strawberries = May/June where we live!!!).

I need to make my soup swap soup today too- YES!! anyone  in my swap reading this- I put it off to the last minute. Happy Soup Swap Day too!

Off to get ready to go to a memorial service- I’ll leave you with a TNT bar cookie recipe I’m taking with me.  Quick tonwhip up, fairly healthy, and everyone always likes them.  I’ve used all kinds of preserves too- blackberry, apricot, strawberry, etc.  My only change- I often don’t have fruit juice, so I just use water.  With the sweet fruit spread you can’t taste the difference.

Apricot Oatmeal Bars

1 c. quick oats
1 c. flour
2/3 c. packed light brown sugar

1/4 t. salt

1/4 t. baking soda

1/4 c. vegetable oil

3 T. apple or cranberry juice

1- 10 oz. jar apricot preserves, preferably “all-fruit” (1 scant cup) (or other flavor all-fruit) (Regular preserves work too- just has more sugar)

– Preheat oven to 325*. lightly oil (or spray with non-stick spray) an 8×12″ baking dish; set aside.

– In a large bowl, work oats —-> soda until no lumps of sugar remain. Drizzle with oil and juice and mix with fingertips until evenly moist and crumbly.

– Set aside 1/2 c. for topping; press remainder evenly in bottom of dish. Spread preserves over top. Sprinkle with reserved oat topping.

– Bake 30-40 minutes or until golden.

– Let cool in baking dish on a rack. Cut into 15 bars. Store at room temp. in airtight container.

 

 

 

One Response to “And Now It’s Saturday”

  1. sillydreamer Says:

    I can’t wait to try this recipe. It looks so easy and yummy 🙂 Thanks for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

