July is Here…how did that happen?!?!

July 8, 2009

How can it be July?  I mean seriously, the kids have been out of school for like a week, right?  What?  It’s been more like four weeks? Really?!?

I don’t know why every year I kid myself by thinking that summer will be relaxing.  It’s been CRAZY busy- parties and funerals (not funeral parties- that’s weird!), trips here and there, worrying about relatives with cancer, orthodontist appts., speaking engagement, trip to the lake, etc.  And now I’m getting ready to leave on another trip for a few weeks.

I’d love to say I’ve been sewing and crafting, but I haven’t much.  Well, I have been in the past week though- I’m trying to get Christmas presents [did she really just say that?!?] done so I can take them on my trip, which is also where we will be for Xmas (14 hours away by car).  If I get them done NOW that one less thing to worry about LATER.

I’ve been making Xmas pillowcases for all the family members who will be there in December- aw!!!  I thought it was a cute idea.  I’m using the pattern from Connecting Threads.  And I’m making quilts for the kids- I’ll have to show you those and explain them later.  Nothing crazy complicated-

And for myself, I made and am in the process of making more of these adorable and simple buttercup bags.   The pattern is easy, it goes together quickly, and only take a fat quarter of fabric for each the outside and the lining!  What a great use for a gorgeous fat quarter. My only suggestion is to add interfacing to the lining fabric- it’s a bit floppy if you use fine fabric.

Buttercup Bag

I made my first because I wanted a bag to go with the dress I purchased to wear to the UFDC convention banquet. (Yes, I’m going to the doll convention next week!) I like how it’s similar but doesn’t match. ( I say that because I picked the bag fabric while trying to remember what the dress looked like, and it’s exact shades of blue!)

And if packing and all wasn’t enough, we were adopted a few weeks ago by a sweet, and pregnant, cat.  So we set up a nursery on our screened in porch, and late Sunday night she had the kittens.  We were excited- three kittens! I thought, I can probably find home for 3 kittens…… The next morning we got up to check on them- there were SEVEN kittens.  Whoa.  (she obviously wasn’t done)  Hubby will have to be their nurse while we are gone!  But Rose is a good mama, so we know they are in good hands.

one day old

And to close, I will leave you with a great recipe I’ve made three times in the past month.  It’s from a publication called “Let’s Do Lunch” In Southwest Virginia: A Memoir . (I think it’s out of print- it was a limited edition printed last year by a lovely lady at my mom’s church. ) This recipes is very economical too if you buy the peppers from Dollar Tree- seriously!! That place is a gold mine.

Roasted Red Pepper Spread

  • 1- 8 oz. pkg cream cheese, softened
  • 1- 8 oz. jar roasted red peppers, drained
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1/4 t. garlic powder

– Gently beat cream cheese at low speed with hand mixer; set aside.  Drain the peppers, chop, and add to cream cherese with the thyme and garlic powder.  Transfer to fancy serving bowl and serve with crackers.

[Sam’s note- I just whiz it all in the food processor- quick and easy. And bec. the peppers I get at Dollar Tree are 12 0z., I just add more cream cheese and spices accordingly.]

I’ll be taking my laptop with me, so hopefully I can post some more while I’m gone.  And I’m going to try to work on my hexagons too!

Bye till later!

~S

Leave a Reply

