Party Time

June 18, 2008

I decided to have a MidSummer’s Eve party.  It’s a party/art show for my kids.  They love to draw and create- this way they can show off their work and we all can enjoy some nibbles and a beautiful night.  It’s been in the low 80*s recently after a spate of 100*+ days, so it will be perfect.

I’d love to say I thunk it up all by myself, but I didn’t.  I found the art show idea here.  I was researching summer projects for kids.  Isn’t that great?  Although instead of kids coming over and doing the art, I decided to just have my kids do it.  School JUST let out, and most people are coping with the new schedule.

 What am I serving?  Glad you asked!  I plan to have decorated cut-out butter cookies; a sort of bean dip with black beans, brown rice, lentils, peppers, onion, tomatoes, cilantro, etc. (with tortilla chips); cheese and crackers; curried chickpeas;  strawberries and grapes, and baby new potatoes.  And then I’ll have a variety of drinks like lavender lemonade, sangria, blackcurrant juice and fizzy water, etc.  Sounds good, doesn’t it??  Not very Scandinavian, but that doesn’t matter.

Well, the chickpeas are finished baking and my laundry is done, so I should get some shut-eye.

OH!!! One last project- I started this Martha purse– and I will finish it and make another one. 

I didn’t think it was hard- I only have the stitching on the handles yet to do.  I DO suggest clipping and pressing the seams open- something they fail to do.  I mean, with all the curves- DUH!!!  And the outer and inner fabrics don’t lay together right if you don’t. The handles are a bit wonky- you can’t clip the seams, so the curves aren’t exactly smooth.  But it’s quite easy and looks cute.

Bye!